Bring the Stigma to its Knees

Why is there a stigma of mental illnesses?

As it is a wall of separation.

I will argue on behalf of depression, but it should be applicable to every other mental disease.

A depression conveys the image of a differentiation in feeling. It per definition measures emotions. It is assumed by the uninformed that a depressed has stronger, in its case sadder emotions, than a non depressed.

Who are the depressed to judge, that their feelings are outweighing those of others? Who are these people to trivialize the irrefutable emotions of healthy men and women?

If they are allowed to just be depressed, they are also allowed to debauch in their obsession of self-deprecation, while others are not. Those not afflicted can and have to continue their work and daily life. Depressives do not. They would be allowed to stay in bed and de- or regenerate, if this stigma is not upheld. They would be allowed to continually imply that some feelings are rooted deeper, are elevated, being pivotal to the perpetuation of their very own existence.

Take a look around through it

Take a look around or through it.

The problem is, these feelings intrinsically are. Anyone, still struggling to accept this condition as an illness, is ignoring the fact, that it is a question of chemical disproportion or malnutrition and not the simple lack of will. Are you willing to take a look at this problem with an open, rational mind or do you want to perpetually enable judgement of alien, of men and women barely know, if at all? Do you seek confirmation of your own worldview or information?

I can turn the tides in this argumentation without a problem and at my will.
You are a lazy cunt, because you are physically ill! Take care of your own body, don’t get sick, pay attention, be cautious.
Well evidently this argumentation is flawed. There is obviously something wrong function of a damaged body. However exactly the same is the case in every mental illness. The brain doesn’t work the way it should. The apparent problem is: It is an invisible illness to the unwary observer. Not even the smitten is initially aware and exactly as a cancer patient, cannot be forced to receive treatment whichever is preferred. Neither is an uninformed in any position to enforce or give solid advice, every situation is different. I had to learn that recently and I will not repeat my mistake. I am truly sorry for this mistake.

Let us take my arm for example, it works perfectly fine. Although sometimes I feel a pain for in my view, concealed reasons. Although these reason are hidden away from my perception, I somehow manage to not roam the halls of the nearest hospital and accuse random people of laziness and cretinism, for the simple reason of a broken arm. Additionally I do not try to give advice on how one could have prevented the injury from occurring ever again, just because my arm works as it should.

In the end it is not exactly a difficult question why there is a stigma. Some want to transform this question, into a very nuanced problem with various aspects, to even further degrade those living under the pressure of a societal failure. Stigmata are mind-killers. They are fear of alterity. The fearful does not assert its view, truth on the contrary will by itself.

This particular stigma hurts individuals, as well as families and society. It increases the illness’ effect and drives the affected further into desperation and worsens the graveness of their condition. Everybody should ask themselves the same question: What qualifies me to judge others? You will come up with various reasons.

Depression in Flow-Motion

Depression in a Flow.

Think harder and stand upright,

Jona

 

 

©  Jonapluswords

inspiration:

This is my road to recovery – Its up now!

Yogangelic – Think of this before judging someone…

Star Mental Health Advocacy – Reflections of Star Mental Health Advocacy- My feelings

10 responses to “Bring the Stigma to its Knees

  1. Brilliantly written Jona! To be absolutely frank, I believe one of the major reasons to why stigma for mental illness exists is because people find it hard to accept the fact that it can happen to anyone. If someone for instance have gone through a traumatic experience, which in turn has led the brain to react upon that constant perceived danger via changes in cell communication and hormonal alterations- it basically means anyone at any point in life can suffer a victim of psychological distress and if prolonged, ‘mental illness’ seeing that everyone are at risk of experiencing trauma in their lives… People like to believe that they cannot end up in such a vulnerable position because they would like to think they are in control at all times. So the most appealing way to support that cognition is to simply argue that those who do end up being depressed and mentally ill are not disciplined or motivated enough, ignoring- what you have demonstrated so neatly in this post- that the brain is far more complex than that! I hope you give yourself credit for the good karma you are spreading and once again thank you for sharing. You are very special.

    • And again, thank you very much. I love that you and others react to my writing. That is credit enough. I am learning so many new words, their meanings and additionally get constructive feedback. It is magnificent. I ignored the factor of fear to a great deal in this post, because I am not quite certain how it influences the behaviour. Someday that will change. You should not tell me that, my ego will burst and everybody has to suffer the consequences ;)

  2. This is good – we are all individual and have to find our own ways of coping with whatever ails us. The problem with depression…it is not seen…and can NEVER be understood if not experienced on a long term basis. A variety of different ‘types’ of depression..triggered by different things…no less real – no matter what the cause. I honestly think we can fight it – with the right tools – (whether that is meds or lifestyle etc) but only to a degree…yet …for most, it is a lifelong battle to ward off the darkness.

    You know you compared it to a broken arm..I wanna compare it to a skin condition:

    All the advice in the world is NOT going to suddenly make your skin function as it should. You can avoid ALL triggers and all the allergens; take all the supplements you like – exercise use the medications…and sometimes – just somewhere your skin begins to itch and itch…people look and say -‘Have you been to the doctor?’…..

    A little understanding however and tolerance at the incessant scratching of the skin…would help…a distraction from it.

    Tell you what – how about YOU live with it and then tell me how to deal with it ey? :D

    Glad you wrote this.

    • Funny thing. I have neurodermatitis since I was a little child. Douchebag brain of mine started this, as my little brother was born. Jealous idiot :) Could have chosen that as well. Wll the possibilites are unlimited in this. Thanks for your reply and words. I’ll do that, if I figured it out.

  3. For clarity purposes – The phrase: ‘Tell you what – how about YOU live with it and then tell me how to deal with it ey?’ was not directed at YOU…but all the ‘YOUS’ who have NOT lived with a condition…whatever it is.
    Interesting thing about the dermatitis…

  4. Update on the Poetry Group: I am going to have to put this off till next week. I began my new work schedule and I am tired. We have the list and if either of the two that submitted ideas as to how to set up this group would like instead to “take over” I am all for that. Just email me or comment here and I actually hope someone takes me up on this offer. I wanted to be a “participant” not the leader on this. But I will help construct the format of the group and provide the “platform” obviously for the setup and if no one volunteers I will group people next week and simply set a date to have your poem posted, maybe a label and tag we will all use, and a date to try and have reviews done (a week shouldn’t be hard). I will wait and see what kind of responses I get here.

    I am going to tag this post with PCG1 for now.

    -Opinionated Man

  5. Pingback: This Month’s Jaw-Drop Comments « Hacker. Ninja. Hooker. Spy.·

Get to my head!

